January 16, 2011

Introducing the red pencil

Posted in Books, Writing at 11:22 PM by moxiemuse

 

I know I promised to write more about the novel I started as part of NaNoWriMo in November. December was busy with the holidays and January started off with a bear in my garage and coming down with a strange case of acute laryngitis for 2 weeks.

While I didn’t complete my novel in 50,000 words, I decided I wanted to keep the momentum so I signed up for a 6-week revision workshop with Lani Rich from Storywonk. Hence the big red pencil and why I decided I needed help with the actual editing of my novel even though it is about 75% complete.

I pulled a tarot card from the Rider-Waite deck before we started and asked, “What am I to learn most from this class?” Interestingly enough, the card was the Six of Pentacles, which is all about giving, sharing, balance, wealth, and judgment. Balance is key for me right now in my life so I’m not surprised to see the main character in the card holding a set of scales and deciding which of the two beggars deserves his money and attention. Figuring out what to give to my story and what to take from it is a great metaphor for what I’m juggling now so the card selection couldn’t be more perfect.

Leave a Reply

